For months now I have followed woofwoofmama’s blog, and for months I have heard about the various mystery boxes available for pet owner, barkbox, pawalla, and spoiled rotten. I’m a curious person, maybe that’s the gemini in me coming out but I can’t help but love a good surprise! Unfortunately due to budget constraints I couldn’t afford to subscribe to any of these boxes. Don’t get me wrong all these are terrific prices coming in between 20 and 30 dollars for each box every month. The longer you subscribe the less the boxes average price per month is. My sister-in-law actually subscribed to the barkbox, can’t wait to see what she got.

March Pawalla Box

March Pawalla Box

Last month, however, Pawalla came out with a new promo box the pawalla mini – 1 treat, 1 toy and a couple of surprise items. I’m not sure if bigger dogs get different items but Theodore is only 15 pounds so for his age, 16 months, and weight the box included: Natural Balance – Healthy Bones – Turkey, Oatmeal & Cranberry, Pet Greems – Semi-Moist Li’l Treats – Tasty Lamb, Fresh Dog – Oatmeal Shampoo (2 ounces), and PetLou – Monkey Stick.

Let me run down this in order, and rest assured I’m new to all these products and brands. Theodore is a picky eater but with a little enticing he likes the treats and for a very toy motivated dog I had no doubt he would warm up to the toy right away. The oatmeal shampoo has yet to be tested but I’ll let you know after his allergies come back, that may be a few months but I’ll get back to it in a later blog post.

Took a little more enticing for Theodore to eat these but he loves them now.

Took a little more enticing for Theodore to eat these but he loves them now.

These Natural Balance bones are small dry treats, not much to them. In general Theodore is picky about his treats, such an odd dog. Where most would gobble down anything you put in their face I have yet to get him to willingly take a milkbone and eat it right away. My parents dogs are happy when he gets a bone because it usually means one of them gets an extra treat. With that being said I was very happy with these treats after reading they have both E and zinc in them to improve coat quality. No artificial flavorings/colors. They do have grains in them but I don’t mind that when it’s in treat form. I’ve dealt with plenty of allergy problems from theodore, last fall it seemed we were in the vets office every few weeks for some allergy/side effect of allergies. Benedryll was in good supply but not for myself. I personally am always in the market for new treats that help with the coat and am happy to add this to the list so when his allergies return I can give these to him. Salmon was one suggestion my veterinarian made with it’s Omega 3 properties. Remember when I said he was a picky eater, yeah salmon is a tricky one with him. Salmon Jerky – OK, omega 3 supplement – OK, salmon food and other treats – not OK. I have stopped trying to give him salmon flavored foods for this reason. Theodore has an odd habit of chewing up treats he doesn’t like but not actually eating any, I am fine with this except for when he does it on my bed, thanks Theodore crumbs are my favorite covering. Thankfully after a few tries I got him to go back to the treat and eat it. Now he’s a big fan. I will emphasize Theodore is toy driven not treat driven, it’s a win if he’ll even try it. If I ever open my box to milkbones, I’ll immediately pack it up for my parents dogs who will eat anything you put in front of them especially milkbones.

Moist heart shaped treats, I thought they were cute from the start. Theodore likes moist treats so he took it, gave me a look like what is this and ate it immediately.

Moist heart shaped treats, I thought they were cute from the start. Theodore likes moist treats so he took it, gave me a look like what is this and ate it immediately.

These treats are similar to other treats I have given Theodore, although not exactly since I don’t think I’ve heard of Pet Greens before. As previously stated I have a picky eater on my hands, his face after I popped one of these in his mouth was one of “Mom what did you just give me?!?” His most priceless ‘I don’t like this’ treat face is when he literally spits it out. I mean I put a new treat in his mouth, mouth mostly shut, tongue pops out, treat falls on ground and he won’t touch it. Yes my dog is nuts, yes he is a picky eater. No he did not do that with these treats. He ate this one right up, thankful to say he likes both bags of treats we got in his first pawalla box. This is good because as I’ve stated various times he is picky and this is the portion I was afraid of. No doubt we will get bags of treats he doesn’t like but for his first box they were a hit! These treats contain anti-aging enzymes and joint synovial fluid which in my book is good, if I can get Theodore to live forever without joint pain I’m all for that! May even give a few to my parents, their 15 year-old Westie has joint pain, and they have an 11 year-old that could use the pre-emptive measures.

Not tested but looks good

Not tested but looks good

Not much to say on this, a review will come in a later post after Theodore’s allergies come back or when I run out his current oatmeal shampoo, whichever comes first. It’s a sample size, 2 ounces. The label looks great so their marketing team is doing their job. Brings me back to my college days and mass media classes where we studied marketing. If you ever get a chance to buy or read through a marketing book you should, it’s very interesting the marketing ploys and research done. I’ve no doubt this product will work great, oatmeal shampoo after all is proven to help with coat and skin.

 

Action shot of Theodore with his new toy.

Action shot of Theodore with his new toy.

It’s orange, it’s fluffy and it squeaks. For a toy motivated dog anything goes, my dog much like myself can get very fixated and when he does that’s it. He’ll rotate between toys, if you don’t play with the one he brought out he’ll quickly turn tail and run to get a new one until you have a pile at your feet and a dog pawing at you for play time. Don’t get me wrong he is played with, he just can’t get enough of play, those with dogs that love fetch know what I’m talking about. Don’t throw the ball unless you plan on playing for hours. This monkey stick is made of ultra-thick durable material, made for durability I will be interested to see how long this lasts. As with most dogs, he has a knack for finding the weak point, thankfully this toy has double stitching on it so it should be a little harder for him to do this. I’ll update when/if he breaks it. Theodore is an aggressive player but not chewer, my sisters dog Oz will take any toy and destroy it in 10 minutes, Theodore on the other hand won’t destroy in 10 minutes but tug of war can ruin a toy in a few days so have to be careful. He loves it, I’m happy with it thus far. Durable toys are always a plus.

OK I know it’s lengthy, I said I haven’t written in a while, in the future I will work on decreasing my word count and being more focused. Let me know if you have any suggestions!

 

